£4.495
FREE Shipping

Five Feet Apart

Five Feet Apart

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Learning that this book is already being made into a movie I just had to watch the trailer and I know that it is a movie that I am definitely putting on my list of movies to watch. In Five Feet Apart our teens do all of the following: run up and down 3-5 flights of stairs, laugh, swim, cry and a multitude of other things. This novel romanticizes and sanitizes CF, turning people’s suffering into inspiration porn and a star-crossed lovers tale of sorts. I also think the book did a great job showing how isolating it is to not be able to be around the very people who understand what living with this disease is like.

Being subjected to mental and emotional pain could also be definition of a type of masochism which I’m doing right now by reading this book and crying like newborn baby.So while I didn't like a number of things (see list below); I cannot deny that Five Feet Apart is well written and has good characterization. In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green, Nicola Yoon, David Levithan and Jenny Han, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication - they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives. Stella finds out that Will is NOT doing his treatments, she decides to download the app that she created on Will's phone, Stella and Will facetime everyday to take their medicine together. A youtuber who reaches out to the rest of the world sharing about the condition and keeping updates as she goes on struggling with the frequent hospital stay and vigorous treatment routine. Not to mention the insta-love between Will and Stella, which was probably the root cause of all the wrong things in this book.

Stella the good girl that went through with her regimen and always did what the doctors told her to do, and Will the rebel who didn’t give a damn about his treatments.

So far my experience with CF looks different from theirs in some very specific ways: I don’t have a feeding tube, I’m not in need of a lung transplant, and I don’t spend a lot of time in the hospital (all of these things of which I am VERY grateful). She is also a good friend, and desperate to make her parents happy, and she is all-round a lovable character.

It made me think, feel, and brought so much awareness to what it's like to live with a chronic disease. The authors of this book could’ve written a love story between a CFer and a healthy person (a relationship that would have conflicts of its own), or simply a story that doesn’t revolve around CF but starring a character with CF! not an emotional impact from a loving story, like i thought, but a new perspective of how often i take my health for granted. Overall, the reader in me enjoyed the story and the characters (I’m a sucker for an ill-fated romance).

I don’t know how accurate Five Feet Apart is, but I do know that sufferers of CF can never touch, must always keep apart, for fear of cross-contamination of viruses or bacteria.

They go through highs of deciding to screw the rules and be together (though maintaining the five feet thing using a pool cue), and experiencing what they can within the boundaries of a hospital. While masks play a role in Five Feet Apart they sure do seem to be conveniently left behind a good 80% of the time. Soon, he'll turn eighteen and then he'll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals. Graceling and Daughter of the Forest both come to mind when I think of amazing love stories that develop in spite of the challenges and plot in the story; instead of the love developing because of the plot. Poco a poco, Stella y Will irán entablando una peligrosa e inevitable amistad, pues a pesar de tener que estar separados siempre por dos metros, a veces hay que robarle momentos a una vida que, inevitablemente, se va haciendo cada vez más corta.All of those get put to the test when she meets Will, an impossibly charming boy who has the same illness. Stella has cystic fibrosis, which is a progressive disease that causes long lasting lung infections and limits the ability to breathe. Don't even get me started with these bidimensional characters (they're more bland than water, trust me).



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop