Did You Hear about Kitty Karr?: A Novel

£11.995
FREE Shipping

Did You Hear about Kitty Karr?: A Novel

Did You Hear about Kitty Karr?: A Novel

RRP: £23.99
Price: £11.995
£11.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Kitty had written out twenty-five invitations to her own memorial service for her lawyer to mail after her death. Prior to becoming a mom, I could spend hours reading books at night until the morning—knowing very well I could sleep in the next day. Paul’s sprawling multigenerational debut hits the ground running with a peek at the complicated family life of an iconic, privacy-seeking clan of Hollywood stars: the St.

in " The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly " Publishing This Week" newsletter. It would've been easy to put this book down and never pick it back up had it not for those I was reading with. John daughters—Elise, Giovanni, and Noele— have gathered at the family’s fabulous (complete with Ferris wheel! Underdeveloped and/or Boring Main Characters: Elise, the older sister and our main point of view, seemed miserable in her life yet also unwilling to do anything about it until Kitty's gift which made for a chore to read.Kitty had become an urban legend postmortem, a Sunset Boulevard caricature who, rumor said, had committed suicide after years of seclusion. It pained her to acquiesce, but with ten years of acting and five hundred million dollars in box office sales under her belt, Elise’s life hadn’t belonged to her in years.

Historical fiction isn't my go-to but I found this novel about Black women passing in Hollywood riveting. If you suspend the leaf and common sense then you may love the book as many people do but what I thought of thinking about the whole premise and giving up your family or your family giving you up none of it sounded believable.I did wind up enjoying the flashbacks more, but the last few chapters of the present day story were truly incredible.

The audiobook has separate voices for each character, and Ariel Blake, Kineta Kunutu and Lynnette Nicholas did a great job of telling such an emotional story! In this sweeping and dazzling debut, I was ushered behind the velvet rope guarding the pristine glamour of Old Hollywood and whispered the wildly complex secrets hidden by larger-than-life on-screen personas. Paul's sprawling multigenerational debut hits the ground running with a peek at the complicated family life of an iconic, privacy-seeking clan of Hollywood stars: the St. During difficult times of segregation in the deep south, this made the quality of life a whole lot better.Startled to find the sixteen-seat conference table full, they didn’t break stride as they took the two remaining seats. It’s just the story, didn’t have what it took to feel like the intention of Kitty’s journey, and how we ended up reading her story, really mattered in the end. A multigenerational saga that traverses the Jim Crow South, the glamour of old Hollywood, and the seductive draw of present-day showbiz as secrets split a family tree into Black, white, and something in between. I had no idea what was going on the first chapter as Smith completely failed to set up the story and properly introduce the characters.

I do think the contemporary perspectives are the weakest part of the book- they function more as a framing device than anything else and could have been better developed. Having said that, this storyline of black women trying to or having to pass as white has been way overdone in the past year or two. Even so, I still think it is a fascinating story and would be a good selection for a book club or buddy read because of the potential discussions. The story became a lot more interesting to me after it opened up a second timeline about a single mother in the segregated South in the 1930s-50s. For fans of Evelyn Hugo and Dava Shastri's Last Day, a highly anticipated read that showcases a main character who sacrifices so much and relevant themes like motherhood, identity, and fame, but struggles to truly land on a message.

My apologies to Reese, but I’m not a fan of the author’s narrative structure and storytelling techniques. What it tells me is that you either 1) do not have Black friends, or 2) you DO have Black friends but they don’t tell you anything of substance because they see you for what you are. by Crystal Smith Paul is an engaging and moving read about the impact of racism on an American family. This is a wonderfully told tale of what it means to be a light-skinned black and pass as being white.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop